Everything is transformed…

The idea of this assignment is to “discover some redeemable features between the images and to organise them into a presentable form”. Lavoisier was a French chemist who perpetuated the quote “in nature nothing is wasted, nothing is created, everything is transformed” when referring to the conservation of mass and doing his combustion experiments. Although I’m far from being a chemist, I did have to find some kind of “chemistry” between a set of given images for my bad snap project and change them into something that visually would turn to be more attractive than the original photographs.

After looking at the photographs I had, I realised that this three pictures when put together would result in what is called a triptych, which refers to a picture shown in three parts or a series of three images. Triptych or diptychs, when two photographs are presented, are normally used in photography to tell a story or present an idea or to contrast two different ones.

At first, I wasn’t quite clear as to the theme or narrative behind my final product, but while presenting it in class, I was suggested to find a connection with time and nature as the pictures I had chosen had those elements in common. So, I worked my images in order to bring that notion of time passing and I popped up its colour saturation and luminance contrast so that I could finish with some vibrant and vivid colours which represents the nature itself and its power.

BadSnaps3

Here are some more examples of this technique used in photography by the German photographer Adde Adesokan and the French Tom Spianti.

Leave a comment